Logo du site
RETI | Réseau d'Excellence des Territoires Insulaires
Governance  |

Governance Committee

The main decision-making body, the Governance Committee sets out the strategic guidelines and agrees to a schedule of actions for the coming year. It meets on a yearly basis at one of the member universities. Traditionally, this meeting is concomitant with a Symposium and a Summer School.

Last meeting: 10th Governance Committee. Canary Islands, Universidad de La Laguna & Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, April 29th-May 3rd.

Next meeting: Corti, Università di Corsica, 2020.

The President of the RETI

The president is elected from the Governance Committee.

He/She prepares and directs the work of the Governance Committee in collaboration with the Permanent Operational Management Team. He/She ensures the implementation of the guidelines set out by the Governance Committee and represents the network in its relations with third parties.

On the 23 July 2016, Professor Clive Mulholland, President of the University of the Highlands and Islands, Scotland became the 3rd President of the RETI. His term of office runs until 2019.

A few words from the President:


The members

The Governance Committee is composed of all the Presidents of the RETI (or of their representative) having one vote each.

Dominique FEDERICI Università di Corsica Pasquale Paoli Corsica France
Llorenç HUGET ROTGER Universitat de les Illes Baleares Balearic Islands Spain
Massimo CARPINELLI Università degli Studi di Sassari Sardinia Italy
Maria DEL ZOMPO Università degli Studi di Cagliari Sardinia Italy
Fabrizio MICARI Università degli Studi di Palermo Sicily Italy
Alfred J. VELLA University of Malta Malta Malta
Ioannis DRAGONAS T.E.I of Ionian Islands Ionian Islands Greece
Panagiotis TSAKALIDES University of Crete Crete Greece
Chrissy VITSILAKI University of the Aegean Aegean Islands Greece
Sokratis KATSIKAS Open University of Cyprus Cyprus Cyprus
Atlantic Europe
Rafael ROBAINA ROMERO Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria Canary Islands Spain
Rosa AGUILAR CHINEA Universidad de La Laguna Canary Islands Spain
Jose Manuel CUNHA LEAL Universidade de Madeira Madeira Portugal
João Luis ROQUE BATISTA GASPAR Universidade dos Açores Azores Portugal
Judite MEDINA DO NASCIMENTO Universidade de Cabo Verde Cabo Verde Cabo Verde
Eustase JANKY Université des Antilles French West Indies France
Orquidea URQUIOLA SANCHEZ Universidad de Cienfuegos Cuba Cuba
Luis A FERRAO DELGADO Universidad de Puerto Rico (Recinto de Rio Pedras) Puerto Rico

Puerto RIco



Indian Ocean
Mamy Raoul RAVELOMANANA Université d'Antananarivo Madagascar Madagascar
Justin RATSARAMODY Université d'Antsiranana Madagascar Madagascar
Frédéric MIRANVILLE Université de La Réunion Reunion Island France
Gaël LAGADEC Université de la Nouvelle-Calédonie New Caledonia France
Patrick CAPOLSINI Univesité de la Polynésie Française French Polynesia France
North America
Alaa S. ABD-EL-AZIZ University of Prince Edward Prince Edward Island Canada
Vianne TIMMONS Memorial University of Newfoundland Newfoundland Canada
Northern Europe
Crichton LANG Univresity of the Highlands and Islands Scottish islands United Kingdom
Hajime OSHIRO University of Ryükyü Okinawa Japan
Jinn-Pyng UENG University of Penghu Taiwan  


Historical background information of the Governance Committee meetings:
2019 : Canary Islands, Universidad de La Laguna & Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria.
2018 : St-John, Memorial University of Newfoundland.
2017 : Okinawa, University of the Ryukyus.
2016 : Corti, Università di Corsica.
2015 : Kirkwall, University of the Highlands and Islands
2014 : Charlottetown, University of Prince Edward.
2013 : Sassari, Università degli Studi di Sassari.
2012 : Lesvos, University of the Aegean.
2011 : Madère, Universidade de Madeira.


Page mise à jour le 16/04/2020 par PIERRE-ANTOINE TOMASI